Germany has eased entry restrictions for travellers who have received their full vaccination or travellers who have fully recovered from Covid-19, without having to quarantine. Travellers with sufficient proof of Covid-19 recovery, as well as those that have been vaccinated, will be treated the same as travellers with a negative PCR test.

The only exception is travellers entering Germany from Covid-19 variant countries such as India, Brazil, etc. Any travellers that come from these high-incident areas will still need to quarantine – with an early release, if after 5 days the traveller can produce a negative PCR test.

The European commission has also suggested easing restrictions by June 2021. Currently the EU is only allowing essential travel.

The countries included under the European Union are as follows: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden.

Reportedly, travellers that have received an EU-approved vaccine will be allowed to travel after a two-week waiting period from when they received the vaccine. As a precaution, the EU will also reserve their right to implement an emergency-brake to prevent travellers entering from new variant countries or during a deteriorating health situation in non-EU countries. These will be reviewed every two weeks and adjusted accordingly.

Join our newsletter

Subscribe to our monthly newsletter to keep up to date with industry trends and travel advice.


Service Feedback

Share your feedback with us, compliments or suggestions welcome.

Service Feedback